Map loading, please wait ...

Barcelona City Council is located in Sant Jaume Square, opposite the Palau de la Generalitat, in the Ciutat Vella district, in the city centre of Barcelona.

The origins of the Barcelona City Council can be traced back to the Consell de Cent, during the 14th century. Currently, Barcelona City Council has four different facades.

The main facade is located in Sant Jaume Square, and is the result of reforms that were carried out during 1823. For the creation of this campaign, it was decided to demolish the old church of Sant Jaume, widening the current Sant Jaume square.

The project for the creation of the current façade, was Josep Mas Vila, and the works were carried out between 1831 and 1844. In these works, it was wanted to demolish the facade of the House of the City, but due to the protests received, it was decided to keep it.

The façade of the Town Hall has three levels of elevation and a cornice with a stone balustrade. The central body breaks with the horizontality of the facade.

In this central body, there is the entrance door of the building, which is flanked by two niches with the sculptures of Jaume I and Councillor Fivaller, made by the sculptor José Bover Mas. The main door is also flanked by four large Ionic columns that frame the presidential balcony on the first floor. On the architrave there is a large coat of arms of the city, made by Francisco Daniel Molina.

Above the balcony on the first floor, there is a marble plaque, made by Celdoni Guixà, with the name “Plaça de la Constitució”.